The Grass Is Greener…


“Not About Me” painting
December 22, 2010, 5:48 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

“Not About Me” is a piece I’ve been working on for Painting I (240). It is strictly an oil painting on canvas, 30 inches by 50 inches. I was looking around at some contemprary artists, and I love Guy Dennings work. I’ve been pretty concerned with the meaning and deep content behind my work since university started, but Guy Dennings paintings were very aimply, emotionally based, with a vulnerable quality. That feeling within his paint moved me, and I thought I should try just putting some of my personal emotion onto a painting. “Not About Me” was not supposed to be a self portrait, but it was inspired by personal feelings.

The colour palate I believe is the strongest element of the painting, which has been a struggle for me in the past. I used Liquin Impasto to speed up the drying process and add a little more texture, and liquid Artist’s Painting Oil Medium to create the runny drips (Windsor and Newton brand).

Other possible titles for the painting brought up from the crit was “the sweaty lady” ;). That really made me laugh.  Some problems with proportion arose out of combining two pictures to make one painting, but for my next work I will pay more attention to the drawing. I realized the problems when it was too late.

Thanks!

(also shout out to stephen, thanks for taking the pics for me :))

Laina

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

