The Grass Is Greener…


90%
October 18, 2010, 7:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Benq laptop

Image via Wikipedia

((Warning, this post is on the verge of a “vent”))

My laptop was stolen, and I actually feel lost in the world. My schedule, plans, ideas, assignments, notes… it is all being erased in someones basement as I type. The nerve! If you are out there Mr. Thief who broke my car window and rummaged through my vehicle, I will pay you more for that old laptop than you will ever get from a pawn shop! Actually, I honestly considered driving my car back to the place where it was broken into, placing a note on the window, hoping the thief would come back for more, and it would say “300 dollars for the laptop”. Then a better idea struck me: no, I should stick a camera in the vehicle and then catch the culprit! But then they might just break into my car and steal the camera, so I would somehow have to hook up a feed that would transmit the data to somewhere else…

Is this healthy? Am I such a good person that I deserve to have a laptop, when only 25% of the world (or less) has internet access? But I’m just going along with my cultural norms; It’s not my fault I was born into this privileged life! Yikes, I never want to go down that road. I have always wanted to be able to at least try to keep my life in perspective with the rest of the world, so I don’t take things for granted.

So what the heck, why do I feel so down? Do I really need to dwell on this so much? It’s just stuff! Maybe I need to lose my things more often… (that’s not an invitation, I’m being hypothetical). You don’t know what you got till it’s gone I guess, or how attached you really are to the material things that are really only a privilege.

This makes me wonder, should we really be supplying our schools and young people with cellphones, computers, iPods, mounds and mounds of technology, when 90% of the world doesn’t even have a college education. A billion people entered into the 20th century not even able to write their own name, let alone type it. Aren’t their bigger issues in the world than how to get more stuff into the classroom? Could that money be used to help someone read a book for the first time?

Honestly, I am one of thee most fortunate people in the world to even have access to a computer.

Just a thought.

some not-so-fun-facts: http://www.globalissues.org/article/26/poverty-facts-and-stats

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

